Family Recipe Friday

Another find from the family recipe box, this time for a dish called “April Salad”. I love that none of the ingredients include an idea of how much to use, so I guess the idea was to just eyeball it. Also, I picked this one out because it’s labelled as “Mrs. Warner’s”. Since this recipe box belonged to my great-grandmother, Beatrice Felver Warner, I’m assuming the Mrs. Warner in this case would have been her mother-in-law, Minnie Manley Warner.

Minnie Manley Warner died in 1916, so I wondered if this could really be her recipe since it calls for lemon jello. Some quick research tells me Jell-O has been around since before the turn of the century and began to gain popularity between 1902 and 1904.

april-salad

2 thoughts on “Family Recipe Friday

  1. Oh, I just love this! I can’t quite imagine myself eating it, but there’s a part of me that would like to make it and serve it just to see my guests’ reactions. A few years ago I went to lunch with friend who was staying with his elderly mother. She served a molded, jelly salad of pineapple and cottage cheese. It actually tasted quite good (although it looked like vomit), and we had a long conversation about jellied foods. Seems they were really popular for a while. Thanks for posting; you’ve got me thinking about jellies now …

  2. I don’t want to completely picture chopped hard boiled eggs suspended in gelatin – yuck! I was also surprised at how bountiful pimentos are in these old jellied food recipes, too, as a garnish. There are a few recipes in the stash I found with side view drawings of what the finished mold should look like!

Leave a Reply

