Locating Your Ancestors at Fernwood Cemetery (Lansdowne, PA)

Want to know the best way to locate your ancestor at Fernwood Cemetery in Lansdowne, PA? Call the cemetery office at 610-623-0333 or send them a letter via snail mail at: 6501 Baltimore Avenue, Lansdowne, PA 19050. Getting a response via snail mail can take some time, but if you don’t have long distance or live outside the U.S. it will only cost you a stamp or two.

This seems like pretty simple advice, particularly for those researching their families, but you’d be surprised at the number of folks on Fernwood’s FindaGrave.com page that don’t take this one small step.

As a photo volunteer, the quickest way to get my attention is by providing section and plot information with your request. Why? It’s a large cemetery, there’s always at least 200 photo requests waiting, the office is only open for part of the day on Saturday and is closed on Sunday (the two days I’m most likely to be fulfilling requests), and I don’t want to push my luck with the nice folks in the office by asking for 10 lookups. If I happen to be at Fernwood on a Saturday during office hours I might pop in to ask for 1 or 2 lookups—that is if there isn’t a funeral that day and the staff isn’t otherwise busy.

You’ll be rewarded for your efforts, dear researcher, I promise! Fernwood Cemetery will send you a photocopy of the burial ledger for the entire plot related to the person you’re asking about. Consider the goldmine of information that could await you! Each entry includes the person’s name, approximate age at death, and burial date. Especially helpful if there’s no stone at the plot—which is the case for the Frickers, below:

Fricker - Section 50, Lot 613

Fricker – Section 50, Lot 613

7 thoughts on “Locating Your Ancestors at Fernwood Cemetery (Lansdowne, PA)

  1. Pingback: Fernwood Cemetery, Lansdowne, PA Burial Records | Out Here Studying Stones

  2. I have several ancestors in Fernwood, some in section 52, lot 331 and others in section 26 lot 250. In the former lot are George P. Smith, his wife Sarah and three children, Emma, John,and Margaret. In the latter are Louis Smith and his wife Catherine. At least I believe these designations are correct. I have records from Ancestry.com which indicate these identifications are correct. I would like to have photos of gravestones if there any grave markers in the cemetery.

    • Hi Richard – I’ll take a look the next time I’m at Fernwood. I’m not sure how soon that will be due to other commitments, but I’ve jotted down these lots so I’ll have the info handy.

      • Jenn O. Thank you for your interest and your willingness to help me in my search for my family. Best wishes, Richard Snow

      • Dear Jenn O. I was just musing about the Smith family. There might be other Smith family members in the plot in Fernwood. I have been searching for the father of George P. and just wondered if the father of George might be there. If there others please let me know. I have exhausted my resources trying to discover the father of George. Thank You, Richard Snow

  3. Pingback: Fernwood Cemetery: The Importance of Research | Out Here Studying Stones

  4. Thanks so much, Jenn, for your detailed info about Fernwood. Death certificates indicate my 2great-grandfather and grandmother were buried there, but no record of them in Findagrave. I will check with the cemetery office!

Leave a Reply

