City Directory Timelines, Part 2

I previously talked about using a simple timeline to track the various places a family lived throughout the years. As I did some more digging on my Felver family, I realized that various branches of this family lived at the same address through the years. I don’t know that it had dawned on me that Joseph C. Felver, his granddaughter Mildred (daughter of Mark), his daughter Mary, her husband Frederick Taylor, and all of the Taylor children at one point or another lived at 169 E. Blackwell Street in Dover, New Jersey.

Looking through some even older city directories, I found Joseph C. Felver and a Theo. Felver (his brother, perhaps?) both living on Blackwell Street.

I threw together another quick timeline to illustrate who was living there in what year–at least according to the various city directories.

Screen shot 2013-11-26 at 9.37.27 PMI can’t stress how important this kind of visual can be. They only take a few minutes to put together and I no longer need to switch back and forth between multiple tabs to see who was living where.

I know that Joseph died in 1909, but now I wonder if he left property to Mildred. Maybe he left it to Mary and her family and Mildred just continued to live there. I think my next mission will be to look into real estate records, deeds, etc. for this property. If anyone has suggestions on where to find this kind of information, please leave me a comment.

Leave a Reply

