Found, then Lost

My aunt and uncle recently sent me a package of material related to my grand-parents and great-grandparents—birth and death certificates, marriage information, etc. It was such a pleasure to go through, especially discovering new information and reconfirming other details. There was even correspondence between my great-grandfather and a gentleman doing research about the Warner surname.

However, the most intriguing piece was a photocopy of an index card that indicated my great-grandfather had donated Civil War medals to…someplace. I knew that my great-grandfather had been very involved in his town’s historical society so I emailed them to see if these medals had ended up in their collection. I couldn’t wait to hear back, plan a trip, and go visit these medals that would have been given to my great-great-grandfather.

After waiting a few weeks, I heard back, but unfortunately found that the historical society had suffered hurricane damage in the 1970s and although they had written record of the donation of the medals, the actual items were long gone.

While it’s disappointing, I consider it just another avenue to explore. Did other family members donate items to historic societies in other towns? Did my great-grandfather donate other things to this same society that I’m not even aware of yet?

This experience reminds me to leave no stone unturned— that no lead is too small to follow up on.

 

One thought on “Found, then Lost

  1. One avenue to follow with medals is finding out from service records what medals he received, then writing to your State congressman explaining of their loss and requesting they be reissued to you.
    I know they do issue Purple Heats to WWI veterans posthumously to family members that have a record of their ancestor being wounded in battle. Purple Hearts were not issued for soldiers in WWI, that began after WWII.

Leave a Reply

