Studying Stones

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted here, but I’ve always said my genealogy research has ebbed and flowed. It flowed a lot last fall and winter – partially because the colder months in Pennsylvania mean less time outside and partially because I lost a brother last fall. The death of a family member always pushes me into a period of heavy research.

But spring came, and I found myself returning to the outdoors and volunteering my time to help others in their genealogy quests. I’ve spent hours upon hours working at historic Mount Moriah Cemetery in Philadelphia, assisting the ongoing efforts to reclaim this neglected place. I’ve also spent many hours this spring and summer working section by section to photograph Arlington Cemetery in Drexel Hill – my own slow attempt to photograph the entire place. I’ve completed two sections and about half each of two more.

This coming weekend I am planning a “Community Day” meetup at Fernwood Cemetery in Lansdowne, PA that will hopefully bring about a dozen volunteer photographers together to fulfill about 250 photo requests. It’s especially timely that Findagrave has launched a beta version of their transcription system, which allows a photographer to batch upload photos and then lets other volunteers transcribe them to memorial. This is quite helpful for someone like me who can easily take 1,000 photos in less than two hours and then has little time to create memorials for all of them.

I hope to find my way back here a bit more regularly, as this blog is a good place to ponder those elusive ancestors!

Leave a Reply

