Mr. Dobbin

While visiting a friend’s store recently I purchased a few small items in the hope of returning them to family. I see people doing this all the time on various Facebook groups and thought I’d give it a try myself. Having had ephemera and photos ‘returned’ to my by distant family members and strangers, I know just how valuable these little odds and ends can be to a family historian.

One of the items I purchased is this photo:

IMG_3056

On the back of the photo someone wrote “Mr. Dobbin”. The only other clues are the photographers named, “W.E. Vaughn” and the location, Red Creek, NY.

My intention is to post this image multiple places. If anyone has any luck tracking down a descendent, please send them my way!

One thought on “Mr. Dobbin

  1. Have you considered contacting Red Creek village’s town council to see who handles info on historical residents or businesses? I checked FamilySearch.org and there were no Dobbins in Red Creek and very few in Wayne County. Even fewer in Cayuga county that Red Creek abuts. Other W. E. Vaughn photographs have been estimated to be 1890-1895 in dating. Yours probably is that as well.

Leave a Reply

